blanket · crochet · project · tutorial · uni stash blanket

Uni Stash Blanket

Hello everyone!

I’m afraid my posting here is going to be few and far between for a little while, so apologies in advance (well, I suppose it has been a bit like it already). Sorry. But there’s nothing I can do, it’s just going to be a busy year. And hopefully a productive one that’s worth the effort.

Anyway, the good news is I have finished my Uni Stash Blanket! Because I didn’t really use a proper pattern apart from for the squares, I am going to be doing a little tutorial about how I made it. Are you ready?

If anything doesn’t make sense, please let me know in the comments!


Uni Stash Blanket

20161207_195920.jpg

(I do apologise about the phone camera photos!)

Materials

  • any yarn you have in your stash
  • appropriate hook sizes
    • e.g. 4mm for DK, 5mm for aran (adjust as necessary to get size)
  • DK yarn (I used James C. Brett Top Value DK) and approx. 1.5 x 100g balls
    • this will vary according to size of blanket
  • 4.5mm hook

I use UK terminology

For the Squares

These are just simple granny squares. Size will vary according to size of first square – mine is a 4-round square in chunky. Use your first square as your ‘set square’ and make as many as you like for the size required. Mix and match colours, get creative! I tried not to use white on the outer rounds so that different shades/dye-lots of white wouldn’t clash. I used a simple granny square pattern from this book and my squares increased by doing [2tr, 4ch, 2tr] in the corners. I sewed in my ends as I went

Joining

Once you’ve made all your squares and got them into order, you will start to join.

  1. Using white DK yarn and 4.5mm hook, ch 1 (this will start the row with the first dc as the first stitch, so no joining the yarn first – essentially an invisible start)
  2. Holding Square #1 and Square #2 together, 2dc together in the corner
  3. Working front sides facing you, dc in top loop only across
    • For this you may need to do a bit of maths if the two squares are not of the same thickness of yarn which will have meant different numbers of stitches. I did 2dc in the one with less stitches whilst joining each of these 2 to a different stitch in the one with more stitches.
  4. 2dc in the corner
  5. Repeat steps 2-4, joining Square #1 to Square #3
  6. Fasten off.
20161207_200344
Clockwise from bottom right: Square #1, Square #2, Square #5, Square #3
  1. Starting with Square #3, repeat steps 1-5 joining to Square #4 and Square #5
    • You will now be crocheting in the opposite direction
  2. Replace the last dc in the corner with a dc-2-tog, the second half of this stitch joining Square #5’s corner to the corner of Square #1.
  3. Dc-2-tog again, the first half of this stitch again joining Squares #5 and #1’s corners and the second half joining Squares #5 and #2.
  4. Continue as before, joining Square #2 to #5 and #6.

20161207_200315_li

Continue like this for all the squares, working in corner to corner fashion. The picture above should hopefully illustrate.

Border

In my Rounds 2-4, my colours ran out before I had got to the end, so I just joined in a new colour and continued.

20161207_200331

Round 1: Using white DK yarn and 4.5mm hook, start in a corner RS facing by ch1, 6htr into corner. Htr around, doing 6htr in each end corner, adjusting increasing/decreasing where appropriate according to yarn thickness. On corners where 2 squares join, 2htr in the 1st corner space, htr-2-tog (first half of stitch in 1st corner space, second half in 2nd corner space), 2htr in 2nd corner space. Join to first htr with sl st. Fasten off.

Round 2: Using another colour of DK weight and 4.5mm hook, ch1 and htr in 3rd loop of any htr of Round 1. Htr in 3rd loop around, in the 2 corner stitches (so the 3rd and 4th stitches in the corner htrs), working 2htr in each. Skip each htr-2-tog. Join to first htr with sl st. Fasten off.

Round 3: Using another colour of DK weight and 4.5mm hook, ch1 and htr in 3rd loop of any htr of Round 1. Htr in 3rd loop around, in the 2 corner stitches (so the 3rd and 4th stitches in the corner htrs), working 2htr in each. Join to first htr with sl st. Fasten off.

Round 4: Using white DK yarn and 4.5mm hook, ch1 and htr in 3rd loop of any htr of Round 1. Htr in 3rd loop around, in the 2 corner stitches (so the 3rd and 4th stitches in the corner htrs), working 2htr in each. Join to first htr with sl st. Fasten off.

Sew in ends

Et Voila!

20161207_200233


I hope you found this tutorial useful! If there is anything that isn’t clear, please do let me know!

Best wishes,

Eleanor x

I’m joining in with Thistlebear’s Winter Project Link Party

Thistlebear

4 thoughts on “Uni Stash Blanket

  1. Hi Eleanor, thank you for joining in with my link party. I love your blanket! For a stashbuster, the colors work really well together and look more planned. I appreciate the tutorial too. I want to make a blanket for my bed but I’m waffling about the kind I want to make and have been thinking more and more about making something with solid squares or hexes, joined in a single color. I will keep your techniques in mind.

    Liked by 1 person

Write a comment