crochet · jacket · project

Being Extravagant

Hello people!

I bet you’ve all forgotten about this one!

Are you ready?

Really ready?

Sure?

Okay, here we are… The big reveal… Drumroll please…

image
Outside...
image
...and inside
image
Close-up of pocket

This is a jacket that’s been in the works since…oooh…about January. I’ve only posted about it once. The pattern is designed by Ruth Maddock and I got the pattern from Simply Crochet magazine 101 Quick and Easy Crochet Makes Spring 2015, but I have seen it available by itself on Love Crochet. I used the proper yarn which is Debbie Bliss Milano in Smoke and Debbie Bliss Rialto DK (which has to be the yummiest, squishiest yarn I have come across so far).

This was the extravagance that has given this post its title. The Milano alone cost about £6 per 50g ball and I needed 12 of them. I probably did have a discount code, but even so, I’ve never spent so much on a project before. Yet I feel in this case you needed the proper stuff because it’s slightly different to normal yarn.

The first day I wore it, I received  so many compliments, the presiding comment being that it looks shop-bought. A friend of mine asked me to make one for her but I had to forewarn her of how much it would cost her. She’s still making up her mind.

Anyhoo, I am enjoying wearing it since it is perfect for the changeable British Spring weather being warm but not too warm. And it goes with almost anything so I am getting good use out of it!

Have a great week!

Eleanor x

2 thoughts on “Being Extravagant

Write a comment

